Poetry and More
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Damned If You Do, Damned If You Don't

Go down

Damned If You Do, Damned If You Don't Empty Damned If You Do, Damned If You Don't

Post  okcsuzq Admin Sun Mar 28, 2021 5:08 pm

Damned if you Do, and Damned if you Don't.
(a reflective look at raising children)

I want to start out by first saying that I am not a doctor of anything. I hold no degrees of any kind. In fact I never finished high school; a fact I am not proud of, but I do want to be very clear about my credentials or rather the lack of them. The only title I can honestly lay claim to is ‘Mother’. 

I was a teenage parent; had my first child at 17, a girl. I was not alone, so I did not have the added problems so many young people do. I am not an authority on who should or should not have children, what age would be the best time, or how you should do it. All I can do is write about my own and some other experiences I have gained a little knowledge of.   

Whether you are the Queen of England, who has everything and every resource at her disposal or the Welfare Mother, who is basically on her own, there are a few things we all have in common. #1 in my book is the fear of having that first child. No matter how much education, money, position, or age; we all fear the unknown. There is nothing anyone can tell you that truly takes all the fear away.